News Release

Daniel Lauletta, Coordinator of Sports Info
320 DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720

Harbach, Oncay, and Godwin Named to NCBWA All-East Region Teams

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - New Castle, DE

Click Image to Enlarge

Senior Jordan Oncay

Senior Joe Harbach

Senior Mike Godwin

Prior to the first pitch on the NCAA Division II East Regional, three players have been named to the 2012 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-East Region teams, led by Joe Harbach and Jordan Oncay as first team members and Mike Godwin being named to the second team.

Harbach (Abingdon, Md./Edgewood/Harford CC) led the team and the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference with a .404 batting average (67-166), hits, 40 RBI’s, six triples, 105 total bases, a .498 on-base percentage and a .633 slugging percentage in the regular season. He was also in the top five in the CACC in doubles (14), home runs (4), hit-by-pitch (15), and sacrifice flies (4). He was also second on the team with 10 stolen bases on the season. Harbach also went 4-for-13 with a double and a stolen base in three games of the CACC Tournament last weekend. He was named the CACC Player of the Year and it is the first time in his career he has been named to an All-Region team.

Oncay (Newark, Del./St. Mark’s) earns First Team NCBWA All-East Region for the second year in a row, this year as a relief pitcher. The team’s closer, Oncay recorded a conference best nine saves and went 5-0 in 16 appearances this season. He posted a team best 1.61 ERA in 22.1 innings while holding opposing batters to a .173 average. He was on the tail end of three shutouts this year while striking out 27 batters with only eight walks. His stretch of 26 consecutive scoreless appearances and 28 scoreless innings dating back to May 7, 2010 was snapped on April 7 against Post. Oncay did not allow a run in 2.1 innings during the CACC Tournament, picking up two saves with four strikeouts while not issuing a walk. Oncay was selected to the All-CACC first team as well.

Godwin (Hockessin, Del./A.I. DuPont) earns NCBWA All-East Region honors for the third consecutive year. The senior started all 45 games in the regular season, most at catcher but also designated hitter and first base, for the Wildcats and batted .265 (40-for-151). He led the conference in walks (32) and was sixth in home runs (3), seventh in doubles (12) and eighth in RBI’s (29). The senior captain was second on the team with 28 runs and third with a .418 on-base percentage. Godwin batted 1-for-9 with an RBI during the CACC Tournament. It is the third time in Godwin’s career being named to an NCBWA All-East Region team, as he was named second team in 2010 and first team last season.

Wilmington (32-16) earned the CACC’s automatic bid into the NCACC Division II regional round by winning its seconds straight CACC Tournament with a 1-0 win over top seeded Felician on Saturday at Frawley Stadium.

The Wildcats earned the fifth seed in the upcoming NCAA Division II East Regional Tournament, hosted by Southern New Hampshire starting on Thursday, May 17. The double-elimination regional competition will be held through Sunday, May 20, with the East Region champion advancing to Cary, N.C. to compete with the other seven regional titlists from May 26-June 2.

Wilmington will face No. 2 seed Le Moyne (40-13-1), who earned an automatic bid by winning the Northeast 10 Conference Tournament,  starting approximately at 3 p.m. on Thursday. All games will be played at Penmen Field on the campus of Southern New Hampshire University.

Admission for each day of tournament play is $5.00 for adults, $3.00 for students with proper school I.D. and Senior Citizens, $3.00 for children ages 2-12.


2012 NCBWA All-East Region Team:

First Team:
C – Matt Walsh, Fr., Franklin Pierce
1B – Zach Mathieu, So. Franklin Pierce
2B – James Katsiroubas, Jr., UMass-Lowell
3B – Stanley Susana, Fr., St. Thomas Aquinas
SS – Frank Salerno, Sr., St. Thomas Aquinas
OF – Joe Harbach, Sr., Wilmington
OF – Joe Petosa, Jr., Felician
OF – James Roche, Gr., Franklin Pierce
DH/Util – Michael White, Sr., Stonehill
SP – Timothy Flight, Jr., Southern New Hampshire
SP – Matt Marotta, Sr., St. Thomas Aquinas
SP – Dan McMahon, Jr., University of the Sciences
RP – Jordan Oncay, Sr., Wilmington

Second Team:
C – Mike Godwin, Sr., Wilmington

1B – Rafael Medina, Sr., Bloomfield
2B – Andrew Abreu, So., Dowling
3B – Cam Kneeland, Sr., UMass-Lowell
SS – Shane Keddy, Jr., Assumption
OF – Brett Botsford, Sr., LeMoyne
OF – Joe Candela, Jr., Dowling
OF – Zach Wiley, Jr., LeMoyne
DH/Util – Mike Russo, Jr., St. Thomas Aquinas
SP – Bo Budkevics, Jr., C.W. Post
SP – John Healy, Sr., St. Anselm
SP – Ed Kohout, Sr., LeMoyne
RP – Alex Powers, Jr., Southern New Hampshire

Player of the Year: Zach Mathieu, So., Franklin Pierce
Pitcher of the Year: Timothy Flight, Jr., Southern New Hampshire
Coach of the Year: Scott Muscat, St. Thomas Aquinas