News Release

Daniel Lauletta, Coordinator of Sports Info
320 DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720

Oncay Named NCBWA Honorable Mention All-American as Reliever

Thursday, May 31, 2012 - New Castle, DE

Click Image to Enlarge

Senior Jordan Oncay; Photo: Chris Mlynarczyk -

Senior Jordan Oncay became the sixth player in Wilmington University’s baseball program to be named All-American as the closer was named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) 2012 Division II Honorable Mention team, announced by the organization in conjunction with the 2012 NCAA Division II World Series in Cary, N.C.

Oncay (Newark, Del./St. Mark’s) earns All-American Honorable Mention status for the first time in his career after being named to the NCBWA All-East Region First Team earlier this month. He was only one of four relievers across the country chosen for the prestigious award.

The team’s closer, Oncay recorded a conference best 11 saves and went 6-0 in 19 appearances this season. He posted a team best 1.37 ERA in 26.1 innings while holding opposing batters to a .168 average. He was on the tail end of five shutouts this year, including two in the postseason, while striking out 33 batters with only eight walks. His stretch of 26 consecutive scoreless appearances and 28 scoreless innings dating back to May 7, 2010 was snapped on April 7 against Post.

Oncay did not allow a run in four innings during the CACC and NCAA East Regional Tournaments, picking up a win and two saves, including the final three outs in the CACC Tournament Championship, with six strikeouts while not issuing a walk. Oncay was selected to the All-CACC first team and CACC All-Tournament Team as well.

The postseason top honor follows a string of accomplishments for the senior, as Oncay earned the programs first ever Rawlings Gold Glove award after being named to the East Region First Team after picking up eight assists with only one error while starting all 51 games in right field. He was also named First Team ABCA All-East Region and Second Team Daktronics All-East Region as a reliever earlier this season.

Oncay becomes the first Wildcat baseball player to be named All-American since teammates Mike Godwin (’12), Joe Harris (’11) and Matt Umba (’11) were also voted as All-American. Jason Rust (’07) remains the programs lone First Team All-American, while Cody Holliday (’09) rounds out the programs most distinguished honors.

Wilmington (33-18) earned the CACC’s automatic bid into the NCACC Division II East Regional tournament by winning its seconds straight CACC Tournament and earned the fifth seed in the regional hosted by Southern New Hampshire. The Wildcats defeated No. 2 Le Moyne in the opening round before closing the season with a fifth place finish in the region.


2012 NCBWA Division II All-America Teams

All-America First Team:
C – Geno Escalante, Jr., Mount Olive
1B – Nathan Minnich, Sr., Shepherd
2B – Joe Wendle, Sr., West Chester
3B – Bryan Lippincott, Sr., Concordia-SP
SS – Blake Miller, Jr., Western Oregon
OF – Casey Allison, Sr., Wingate
OF – Ryan Busboom, Jr., Fort Hays State
OF – Zach Taylor, Jr., Armstrong Atlantic
Util/DH – Anthony Boza, Sr., Lynn
SP – Timothy Flight, Jr., So. New Hampshire
SP – Carl O’Neal, Jr., St. Mary’s
SP – Grady Wood, Sr., Western Oregon
RP – Stephen Johnson, Jr., St. Edward’s

All-America Second Team:
C – Zach Braun, So., Bemidji State
1B – Jacob Rogers, Sr., Mount Olive
2B – Carlos Asuaje, Sr., Nova Southeastern
3B – Daniel Duran, Sr., Cal State LA
SS – Grant DeBruin, Sr., Alabama-Huntsville
OF – Jeff Popick, Sr., Colorado Mesa
OF – Areo Regoli, Sr., Nova Southeastern
OF – James Roche, Gr., Franklin Pierce
Util/DH – Joe Vaskas, Sr., Emporia State
SP – Geoff Broussar, Sr., Cal Poly Pomona
Sp – Derek Hansen, Jr., Augustana
SP – Lee Stoppelmen, Sr., Central Missouri
RP – Brad Zambron, Jr., Grand Valley State

All-America Third Team:
C – Kyle Morrow, So., Pitt-Johnstown
1B – Bo Folkinga, Sr., Western Oregon
2B – Nate Van Roekel, Sr., Winona State
3B – John Calhoun, Sr., Washburn
SS – Seth McMullen, Jr., Winona State
OF – Sean Collette, Jr., Alderson-Broaddus
OF – Eli Davis, Sr., Cal State Stanislaus
OF – Danny Susdorf, Jr., UC San Diego
Util/DH – Mike Mercurio, Jr., Mount Olive
SP – Logan Birr, Sr., St. Cloud State
SP – Chad Boughner, Jr., North Alabama
SP – Craig Goodman, Sr., Tusculum
RP – Emilio Pagan, Jr., Belmont Abbey

All-America Honorable Mention:
C – Landon Sullins, Sr., Arkansas Tech
1B – Zach Mathieu, So., Franklin Pierce
2B – Eric Dawson, Jr., Emporia State; Kevin Odom, Sr., Cal Baptist; Andrea Rodriguez, Jr., Lincoln Memorial
3B – Cade Stallings, Jr., Tusculu,
SS – Keith Morrisroe, Sr., Concord; Frank Salerno, Sr., St. Thomas Aquinas
OF – Steve Anderson, Sr., Grand Valley State; Bobby Egeberg, Jr., Colorado Mines; Josh Haley, Sr., UNC Pembroke; Phil Imholte, Jr., St. Cloud State; Shane Latshaw, Sr., Mercyhurst; Derek Mendoza, jr., Grand Canyon
Util/DH – Camerson Dullnig, Sr., Texas A&M-Kingsville; Kyle Davis, Jr., New Mexico Highlands; Derek Hansen, Jr., Augustana
SP – Donovan Drank, Sr., Indianapolis; Harvey Martin, Sr., Minnesota State; Ben Rawding, Jr., Mercyhurst; Mark Sappington, Jr., Rockhurst; Lou Trivino, So., Slippery Rock
RP – Jordan Oncay, Sr., Wilmington

Player of the Year – Nathan Minnich, Sr., Shepherd
Pitcher of the Year – Timothy Flight, Jr., Southern New Hampshire
Coach of the Year – Charlie Migl, St. Mary’s (Texas)