News Release

Daniel Lauletta, Coordinator of Sports Info
320 DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720

Wilmington University Holds its Fifth Annual Athletics Academic All-Star Banquet with Guest Speaker Raheem Brock

Sunday, April 13, 2014 - New Castle, DE

Click Image to Enlarge

Former Temple Owl and NFL player Raheem Brock spoke at the 5th Annual Academic All-Star Banquet. Copyright 2014; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.

The 11 members of the 2014 induction class into the Chi Alpha Sigma Student Athlete Honor Society. Copyright 2014; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.

The seven members that were inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society in 2013, and again were honored in 2014 as Second Year Honorees. Copyright 2014; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.

Now in its fifth year of existence, the Wilmington University athletics department introduced 58 student-athletes as Academic All-Start on Sunday night at it annual Athletics Academic All-Star Banquet in the Audrey K. Doberstein Admissions Center Auditorium.

After dinner, the student-athletes and guests were treated by a visit from former Temple University and NFL player Raheem Brook who spoke to the audience. A Super Bowl winner with the Colts and NFC West Division winner with the Seahawks, Brock spoke to the student-athletes, parents, coaches, and administration in attendance about the trials ad tribulations he had to overcome as a young boy growing up in Germantown, Pa., in order to graduate high school and be accepted to Temple.

Brock continued his inspirational message for the students about overcoming obstacles to achieve your goals, and to also set new goals as life always changes. After Temple, Brock had one dream realized when he was drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles in the 2002 NFL draft, but needed to make new set of goals as the hometown team couldn’t sign him.

Brock would spend the next eight years as a Colt, learning from NFL legends such as Peyton Manning, Marvin Harrison, and Dwight Freeney. In part of his time as a Colt, Brock earned a Super Bowl ring winning the NFL’s Championship in 2006.

After continuing to learn all that he could from head coach Tony Dungy, Brock was signed by the Seattle Seahawks where his goals and passions turned from learning all that he could, to teaching younger players all that he knew. He then told the audience of such experiences such as the Marshawn Lynch “Earthquake Game” in the 2010 playoffs.

His message to the crowd today was to always have the student-athletes challenging for more. The numbers show that not all college players go professional in the sport that they play, so working as hard as possible in every aspect of life leaves the student-athletes a multitude of options to fall back on.

Assistant Vice President Dr. Jack Cunningham, Director of Athletics Linda Andrzjewski, and Associate Director of Athletics Brian August Followed with announcing this year’s 58 Academic All-Stars and handing out certificates.

In order to qualify as a Wilmington University Academic All-Star a student-athlete must carry at least a 3.5 GPA for the academic year

Wilmington, the second university in the state of Delaware to hold Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society status, also recognized eight individuals that became second year honorees of the academic honor society, and inducted 11 more outstanding individuals into the 2014 class.

Volleyball’s Brittany Biddle, Annie Scarfo, and Katie Shorter; Cross Country’s Sarabeth Oppermann and Michael O’Brian; Women’s Lacrosse’s Ali Kern; Women’s Soccer’s Jordanne Hoesli-Atkins; and dual sport athlete Rachel Burley were recognized for being in the Society as second-year members.

Women’s Basketball’s Taylor Carter; Volleyball’s Kaitlin DiGiacinto; Cross Country’s Tijen Ozcan and Mark Hannagan; Men’s Soccer Zachary Lee; Softball’s Chelsea Botsch and Michelle Panasiti; Baseball’s Ryan Douglas; and Women’s Soccer’s Kaitlyn Atmore, Julia Brown, and Shelby Schneeweis were inducted into the academic Society as first year members on Sunday night.

In order to be inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society, a student-athlete must carry a 3.5 or greater cumulative GPA and be of junior academic status.

Chi Alpha Sigma’s purpose is to: encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited colleges and universities; to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letter winners; to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics, to recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university; and to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.

2014 Wilmington University Athletics Academic All-Star Banquet

Academic All-Stars:
Baseball: Michael Annone, Ryan Douglas, Sean Feeney, Kyle Fries, Sam Goines, Jay Kluka, Christopher Lopez, Tory Manfre, Nick Marics, Peter Monahan, Tyler Newton, Bradley Nowell, Zachary Rumford, Michael Torres, and Jamie Treml.
Women’s Basketball: Jennifer Carr, Taylor Carter, and Jocelyn Rodriguez.
Cross Country: Ken Fontal, Mark Hannagan, Michael O’Brian, Sarabeth Oppermann, and Tijen Ozcan.
Golf: Jun Ahn Young, Frederik Braun, and Andreas Lunding.
Women’s Lacrosse: Rachel Burley, Ali Kern, Ashley Kroll, Gabby Spalt, and Katie Spence.
Men’s Soccer: Chad Jenkins, Zachary Lee, Steven O’Connor, and Joe Woodley.
Women’s Soccer: Kaitlyn Atmore, Julia Brown, Rachel Burley, Jordanne Hoesli-Atkins, Ashley Kroll, Kim Richer, Shelby Schneeweis, and Rebecca Sowers.
Softball: Ashley Bennett, Chelsea Botsch, Kelsey Doherty, Jennifer Fischbach, Shannon McMahon, Michelle Panasiti, Miranda Pedersen, Colby Wyatt
Volleyball: Brittany Biddle, Allison Briley, Kaitlin DiGiacinto, Annie Scarfo, Katie Shorter, Nicole Shuba, and Alex Siolos.

2014 Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society:
First Year Members – Taylor Carter, Kaitlin DiGiacinto, Tijen Ozcan, Mark Hannagan, Zachary Lee, Chelsea Botsch, Michelle Panasiti, Ryan Douglas, Kaitlyn Atmore, Julia Brown, and Shelby Schneeweis.
Second Year Honorees: Brittany Biddle, Annie Scarfo, Katie Shorter, Sarabeth Oppermann, Michael O’Brian, Rachel Burley, Ali Kern, and Jordanne Hoesli-Atkins.