News Release

Erin Harvey, Asst. Dir/Compliance/SWA
320 DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720

Five Wildcats Earn First Team Daktronics East Region Honors; Tarpeh Name Region Player of the Year

Tuesday, November 17, 2009 - New Castle, DE

Click Image to Enlarge

Sargbah Tarpeh

Fatoma Turay

Dave Dease

Wilmington University is pleased to announce that Sargbah Tarpeh (Overbrook HS/Philadelphia, PA), Fatoma Turay (Bartram HS/Philadelphia, PA), Nickalus McDonald (Martin Luther King HS/Philadelphia, PA), Jamal Wiggins (St. Anthony’s HS/St. Thomas Central, Trinidad), and Dave Dease (Delsea HS/Newfield, NJ), were named to the NCAA Daktronics East Men’s Soccer First Team for their performances this past season.

The voting was powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM and conducted among sports information directors at NCAA Division II institutions that are members of the Central Atlantic Collegiate, East Coast and Northeast 10 Conferences.

Tarpeh, a senior forward, was named East Region Player of the Year and was the catalyst of the Wildcat offense. Tarpeh led the Wildcats in almost every offensive category, including goals (21), assists (11), and game winning goals (7). He also led the CACC in points, goals, assists, shots, points per game and assists per game. His offensive contributions ranked 6th in Division II in points per game and assists per game, and 7th in the nation in goals per game. His 54 this season were a single-season CACC record. A four-time All-CACC First Team selection, he was also named the CACC Player of the Year.  Tarpeh becomes the first Wildcat to earn Regional Player of the Year Honors in men's soccer.

Turay, a senior midfielder, finished second on the squad in assists (9). He was fourth on the team in points (15), and ranked second in the conference in assists. McDonald, a sophomore midfielder, netted 12 goals and six assists this season. He was third in the CACC in points, and is tied for fourth in goals and assists. Both Turay and McDonald were First-Team All-Conference award winners.

Dease, a senior defender, and Wiggins, a junior back, were the anchor of the Wildcat defense. Their play led a defense that finished second in the CACC in goals against average (0.87) and in goals allowed (20; 0.85/game). They helped the ‘Cats to seven shutouts this season and led the squad to a ranking of 25th in the nation in team goals against average. Dease and Wiggins each earned First-Team All-CACC honors this year.

Together, these five players helped Wilmington end the 2009 campaign with a stellar 19-3-1 overall record, including a perfect 11-0 mark in the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC). The season saw many highs, including the highest national ranking in school history (9th), highest regional ranking in program history (1st), and six members honored with All-Conference awards. Head Coach Nick Papanicolas was named CACC Coach of the Year, and the squad claimed the CACC regular season title.

The five Wilmington student-athletes were the only members of the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference to earn First Team All-Region honors.

The entire East Region Team is listed below:


Richard Kentish – Southern New Hampshire University
Dave Dease – Wilmington University
Kevin Neumen – Franklin Pierce University
Jamal Wiggins – Wilmington University
Nickalus McDonald – Wilmington University
Frantz Francois – Franklin Pierce University
Jose Batista – Molloy College
Fatoma Turay – Wilmington University
Sargbah Tarpeh – Wilmington University
Robbie Sabadoz – Merrimack College
Angelo Reina – Le Moyne College
Adrian Schippers – Southern New Hampshire University
Sean Lambert – Southern New Hampshire University
Player of the Year
Sargbah Tarpeh – Wilmington University


Clifton Huxtable – Dominican (N.Y.) College
Germain Delage – Southern Connecticut State University
Juan Vargas – Dowling College
Emmanuel Asangmbeng – Philadelphia University
Paul Templeton – Southern Connecticut State University
Victor Goncalves – Franklin Pierce University
Moussa Keita – Dowling College
Eric Heuze – Bentley University
Joe Wright – Dominican (N.Y.) College
Lamine Traore – Dowling College
Maurice Johnson – Post University
Seydou Ba – Holy Family University
Brandon Heembrock – Dominican (N.Y.) College