SCADA Cyber Security Certificate


Guarding the Critical Infrastructure, Systems, and Processes

Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) is the system that monitors and controls critical infrastructure, processes, and other systems. SCADA is used in various industries and processes, including power generation and transmission, water treatment, transportation, pipelines, etc.

SCADA Cyber Security protects and mitigates threats to the SCADA system, the critical infrastructure, processes, and other related systems. The security courses in this graduate level certificate focus on SCADA Cyber Security from a strategic perspective.

The certificate requires 15 graduate credit hours (as identified below) as well as post Baccalaureate status, and networking experience / training to register. If a student does not have the networking background, then they can take IST 7040 Data Communications and Networking as a prerequisite. Students are required to complete three IST credits and twelve SEC credits from the list of core courses.

SCADA Cyber Security Certificate Core Courses

IST 7060 Available Online  Project and Change Management

IST 7100 Available Online  IT Policy and Strategy

SEC 6080  Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security

SEC 6082  SCADA Architecture

SEC 6084  SCADA Risk Management and Auditing

SEC 6086  SCADA Security Awareness and Standards

Note: you must successfully complete one IST course (IST 7060 Available Online or IST 7100 Available Online) and the four SEC courses identified in the core courses.

This information applies to students who enter this degree program during the 2014-2015 Academic Year. If you entered this degree program before the Fall 2014 semester, please refer to the academic catalog for the year you began your degree program.